Carabao Cup R2: Arsenal draw West Brom, Barrow vs Villa

Arsenal have been drawn away to West Brom in the second round of the Carabao Cup, while Aston Villa will travel to Barrow.

All Premier League sides not involved in Europe featured in the second-round draw, with Newcastle taking on Burnley and Leeds hosting League One side Crewe, while Everton have drawn Championship opposition in Huddersfield Town.

Elsewhere, Watford drew Crystal Palace, Southampton are heading to League Two outfit Newport County, and Premier League newcomers Brentford welcome Forest Green Rovers.

The matches will be played during the week beginning Monday August 23, and Sky Sports will announce which games will be broadcast live in due course.

Fulham and West Brom, both relegated from the Premier League last season, were also new names in the pot for the second round, and it was the latter who drew Arsenal, who last won the tournament in 1993.

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Ravel Morrison scored a thunderbolt from 25-yards to draw Derby level on his debut in the Carabao Cup against Salford

Meanwhile, Fulham face a trip to Birmingham City, while Sheffield United host Derby after Wayne Rooney’s side overcame a scare to beat Salford on penalties in the first round.

Wolves head to Nottingham Forest, Norwich host Bournemouth, Cardiff host Brighton, and QPR’s reward for a shootout win over Leyton Orient is a home match against Oxford United.

Manchester City, Manchester United, Liverpool, Chelsea, Leicester, West Ham and Tottenham will all feature in the third-round draw.

Carabao Cup second-round draw in full

North Section

  • Oldham Athletic vs Accrington Stanley
  • Newcastle United vs Burnley
  • Wigan Athletic vs Bolton Wanderers
  • Huddersfield Town vs Everton
  • Sheffield United vs Derby County
  • Stoke City vs Doncaster Rovers
  • Shrewsbury Town vs Rochdale
  • Nottingham Forest vs Wolverhampton Wanderers
  • Morecambe vs Preston North End
  • Blackpool vs Sunderland
  • Leeds United vs Crewe Alexandra
  • Barrow vs Aston Villa

South Section

  • Brentford vs Forest Green Rovers
  • Millwall vs Cambridge United
  • West Bromwich Albion vs Arsenal
  • Norwich City vs AFC Bournemouth
  • Cardiff City vs Brighton & Hove Albion
  • Birmingham City vs Fulham
  • Gillingham vs Cheltenham Town
  • Queens Park Rangers vs Oxford United
  • Swansea City vs Plymouth Argyle
  • Stevenage vs Wycombe Wanderers
  • Newport County vs Southampton
  • Northampton Town vs AFC Wimbledon
  • Watford vs Crystal Palace

Adblock test

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.